10 Songs that Epitomize the Life of a TVI

There’s a lot to be said about the continued culture of the education system as we know it and how teachers continually try to move mountains for students with little political support and no resources. But given the oppressive climate here in my own state and the fact that it’s the end of the school year, I’m thinking some lighthearted reading might do a lot of good to carry us through to the finish line.

I realize that I’m severely dating myself with the picture logo of the cassette tape, because in today’s age most music is digitally downloaded. However, it seriously doesn’t feel so long ago that I made driving music tapes to soften the burden of A LOT of car time during my practicum teaching placement while still taking classes in the good old days of my Illinois State University undergraduate program. Little did I fully comprehend that I was being prepared for a lot of driving ahead of me.

In the later years Sirius XM radio would become my loyal travel companion.

If you stick with me though I hope you’ll see that I’m not entirely an old soul and that I have the capacity to bridge together generations of teachers for the sake of offering a greater sense of community for our unique profession.

Without further ado, I present to you 11 songs that epitomize the life of a TVI.

10. Stressed Out by Twenty One Pilots

Stressed out

From the first time I heard this song in the car driving my men to school, I knew this was my montra. All teachers are asked to do so much with so little. Our brains on any given day would have to look similar to a multiple circuit grid map. The days can be stressful, because we care about outcomes.

Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days. When our mamas sang us to sleep but now we’re stressed out  YouTube link for Stressed Out

9. The Long and Winding Road by the Beatles

Long Winding Road

Teachers of the Visually Impaired drive. A LOT! We head to homes. We head to schools. We even accompany families to ophthalmology appointments when possible. During my most busy school year as an itinerant TVI, I’m certain that there was enough food on the floor board of my car to sustain a family of four for at least a few steady meals.

The long and winding road, That leads to your door, Will never disappear, I’ve seen that road before, It always leads me here, Lead me to your door  YouTube link for Long and Winding Road

8. Here Comes the Weekend by P!nk

Here Comes the Weekend

Every state is different, by here where I live the majority of students just finished up taking End of Grade state mandated assessments. No matter when this happens elsewhere, the circumstances have to be the same: teachers rushing around administering tests and scrambling to locate proctors; documentation of IEP testing accommodations; ensuring that the braille copy arrived; calling families the day before making sure that the student brings prescribed glasses to school… The scenarios are never ending. But there’s always light at the end of the tunnel. It’s called the weekend.

Here comes, comes the weekend, Hear it calling like a siren, We don’t want no problems, We don’t like them, keep it movin’  YouTube link for Here Comes the Weekend

7. Always Something There to Remind Me by Naked Eyes

Always Something There to Remind Me

TVIs should never face difficulty of finding a teaching position, given the circumstance of a national teacher shortage. And if a TVI is dual certified (to also meet Orientation and Mobility needs) I can only imagine the urgency of school districts wanting to snatch up those professionals. Dual certified TVIs seem to get the best of both worlds: in school instruction and opportunities to be on the streets teaching mobility independence. Because I’ve admitted before to not being able to find my way out of a paper bag, dual certification should never be part of my vocabulary.  But for those that can, I’m guessing that city streets will always hold a special meaning with memories.

I walk along the city streets you used to walk along with me, And every step I take reminds me of just how we used to be  YouTube link for Always Something There to Remind Me

6. Fight Song by Rachel Platten

Fight Song

At some point we all face the teaching arena for the first time without any real experience to undergird our confidence. For me, I received by degree in Visual Impairment as an undergraduate student. Even before finishing I can remember having a conversation with a close family member about the aspect that there was no money in the profession of teaching. Perhaps this was an attempt to persuade me otherwise. Obviously I didn’t detour. Then in my program I faced the real discouragement of a professor asking point blank “if this was really worthwhile for me.” Aside from being industrious, I’m also tenacious when I make my mind up to finish something; there was no turning back and I refused to be weeded from the program. Both of these circumstances marked my entry into the world of teaching, which probably stole some of my self-confidence. I then decided to move out of state to take on my first job. Knowing no one in my new location, the credentials of Teacher of the Visually Impaired was added to my professional resume. We all have a starting point. We all have our own Fight Song.

Like a small boat, On the ocean. Sending big waves, Into motion. Like how a single word, Can make a heart open. I might only have one match, But I can make an explosion YouTube link for Fight Song

5. Roar by Katy Perry

Roar

TVIs are fierce advocates for students. There’s really not a whole lot more to add. TVIs enter IEP meetings roaring to make a difference, by spreading the word about the importance of the Expanded Core Curriculum for students with Visual Impairment. To quote Phil Hatlin, our students deserve the “opportunity to be different and the right to be equal”; nothing less.

You hear my voice, you hear that sound. Like thunder gonna shake the ground  YouTube link for Roar

4. Shake if Off by Taylor Swift

Shake it Off

Critics are all around us and sometimes we ourselves can be our worst critic. I think it’s hard to face the world at times because social media makes it all too easy see “perfection” constantly around us. I appreciate the humility though that TVIs share and the vulnerability of posted questions I read from teachers who are still trying to figure it out. I think this makes our profession unique. Even so, there are days when we need to be reminded to Shake it Off and move on.

Cause the players gonna play, play, play, play, play; And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate; Baby, I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake; I shake it off, I shake it off  YouTube link for Shake it Off

3. You’re an Overcomer by Mandisa

Overcomer

The days are long and the nights are short. During any given day, TVIs put out fires related to technology not working, students being excluded or treated differently during school activities, last minute copies of braille needed without notice, and (sometimes) comforting a student who is facing the giant of accepting a continued vision loss [just to name a very few]. The result is feeling depleted, and possibly even struggling with a loss of our own identity outside of being a TVI. It’s during these difficult days when we need to remind ourselves to be an overcomer.

You’re an overcomer, Stay in the fight ’til the final round, You’re not going under YouTube link for You’re an Overcomer

2. Stronger by Kelly Clarkson

Stronger

Teaching isn’t for the faint of heart. While other professions may adhere to work hour boundaries, there are none in education. In fact every TVI has a story to share about waking up in the middle of the night thinking of a student, wondering how in the world to make a difference. Teachers may experience time off during the summer from seeing students face to face, but how many of them are investing much time and energy in scoping the internet for teaching ideas and Do It Yourself projects, because the schools have no money?

What doesn’t  kill you makes you stronger, Stand a little taller, Doesn’t mean I”m lonely when I’m alone, What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter  YouTube link for Stronger

1. Vacation by the Go Gos

Vacation

Sometimes all that is needed are the pure lyrics.

Vacation, all I ever wanted; Vacation, had to get away; Vacation, meant to be spent alone; Vacation, all I ever wanted; Vacation, had to get away YouTube link for Vacation

 

Disclaimer: I seriously thought that I had an original idea to create a blog using a series of songs that created a dialog of TVI experiences. It’s a good thing I did some digging, because I stumbled across an already existing blog using the same concept. Yikes! For citation purposes, here it is: https://www.weareteachers.com/teacher-soundtrack/

One thought on “10 Songs that Epitomize the Life of a TVI

Leave a comment